The Retrogaming






The word “retrogaming” (sometimes called «old-school gaming ») designates the interest people have in ancient video games seen as « retro ». Unfortunately, we are already facing difficulties to understand this trend : to what kind of criteria does a video game have to correspond to be considered as « retro » ? And also, when did retro gaming appeared ?
Even if limits are still unclean, video games seen as « retro » as generally the 2 dimensional ones which appeared with the first four video game consoles generations, that is to say between the early 1970’s until the mid-1990’s. These first four video game console generations spread from the first video game console released in 1972, known as Odyssey to the last 16 bit console such as Nintendo’s SNES and Sega’s Megadrive (known as the “Genesis” in the United States). These two consoles were then overthrown by the fifth generation ones (with 32 & 64 bit processors) in 1994 and 1996 with the releases of Sony’s Playstation and the Nintendo 64.

This recent infatuation for ancient video games is hard to date, still the first nostalgia signs began to appear with the release of classic arcade games remakes at the end of the 1980’s. In this way, in 1987 was released an isometric projection version of Pac-Man (it was not a real 3d game however the result was really impressive) in which the player was able to jump over the ghosts.
Studying this new rising trend, a question popped into my mind: why retro gaming? People are now looking for High-Definition (HD) video quality and even 3D movies, however, some gamers just can’t help plugging their video game consoles again. And if you ask them why, the same answers regularly show up: simpler controls and gameplays, the higher difficulty which gave this leisure a “underground” aspect, the absence of compatibility (hardware & software), or even simple of nostalgia of an other era…The list is long and reveals nowadays frustration towards progress’ acceleration.

Since these first remakes, the retro gaming phenomenon never stopped to grow. As one can see on the digital distribution platforms, the number of retro gaming remakes and compilation has literally skyrocketed. Sony’s Playstation Store displays a “PSone Classics” and a “Neo Geo Games” sections, in the meantime, in the Nintendo Store a whole section named “Classic Games: Virtua Console” is dedicated to this type of games, and the Xbox Marketplace also gathers a collection of vintage games in its “Classics” category. Plenty of these games would have eventually pleased old-school gamers throughout the world if their price (between 8 and 10€ for the must-haves) matched with what they are: simple ported games.

Consequently, emulation (the process by which a software “think” it is a video game console) remains the ideal alternative for the gamers. A great deal of websites offers the opportunity to download emulators and roms (image files containing a game’s data) without any restriction. It is by the way a noteworthy fact that you can legally use emulation if you possess the original game and the video game console you want to emulate.

Well, this is the end of this article, I hope it gave you the wish to play to your vintage games again. For the time being, I would like to share with you one of my first memory about video games: Donkey Kong which was released in 1981.

This game is available at: http://www.retrobit.tv/en-us/mario/first-game-with-mario-and- donkey-kong.html

Le Retrogaming






Le terme “retrogaming” (parfois même “retro-gaming” ou bien “rétrogaming”) désigne l’intérêt pour les consoles de jeux et les jeux vidéos anciens considérés comme “rétros”.

Malheureusement, on se retrouve déjà à ce stade confronté à des difficultés: à quels critères un jeu doit-il répondre pour être considéré comme rétro ? Et quand le retrogaming est-il apparu ? Même si les frontières restent floues, on considèrera “rétros” les jeux généralement en 2 dimensions commercialisés sur les 4 premières générations de consoles entre le début des années 1970 et le milieu des années 1990. Ces 4 premières générations de consoles s’étendent de la première console de jeux Odyssey sortie en 1972 jusqu’aux dernières consoles 16 bits telles que la SNES de Nintendo et la Megadrive de Sega détrônées entre 1994 et 1996 par l’arrivée des consoles de 5èmes générations (32 & 64bits) comme la Playstation de Sony et la Nintendo 64.

Cet engouement récent pour les jeux anciens est difficilement datable même si les premiers signes de nostalgie sont apparus avec les rééditions de jeux classiques apparues à la fin des années 1980. Ainsi en 1987 apparaît Pac-Mania, un remake en 3D isométrique (on est toujours pas dans un vrai rendu 3D mais cependant un troisième axe est ajouté pour rendre la sensation de profondeur) dans lequel le joueur a en plus la possibilité de sauter par dessus les fantômes. Photo Pacman01 vs. Photo Pac-Mania01

En étudiant cette tendance en pleine explosion aujourd’hui, une question vient naturellement nous effleurer l’esprit : pourquoi le retrogaming ?
Lorsque l’on demande aux joueurs pourquoi à l’heure de la Haute Définition (HD) et de la vidéo 3D ils ressortent leurs veilles consoles plusieurs réponses apparaissent de manière récurrente : simplicité des commandes et du gameplay, difficulté plus élevée qui en faisant un loisir plus restreint et “underground”, absence de problèmes de compatibilité/caméra, voir même simple nostalgie d’une autre époque… la liste est longue et reflète une certaine frustration vis à vis de l’accélération constante du progrès .

Depuis ces premières rééditions, le phénomène n’a cessé de gagner en ampleur, en témoigne la multiplication du nombre de jeux et compilations rétros sur les plateformes d’achats en ligne des consoles actuelles. On retrouve ainsi les catégories “PSone Classics” et “Neo Geo Games” sur le Playstation Store de Sony, une section “Classic Games : Virtua Console” sur le Nintendo Store et une catégorie “Classiques” sur le Xbox Marketplace. Une foule de jeux qui auraient pu encore plus ravir tous les rétros gamers de la planète si leur prix (entre 8 et 10€ pour les incontournables) correspondait à ce que la plupart sont réellement : de simples portages.

Pour moult gamers l’émulation (qui désigne le processus d’imitation par lequel un logiciel “réfléchit” comme une console) représente la solution idéale. De nombreux sites proposent actuellement de télécharger des émulateurs et des roms (fichiers images contenant les données d’un jeu) en libre accès. Il est par ailleurs bon de savoir que l’émulation est un procédé légal si vous possédez un exemplaire original de la console ainsi que du jeu “émulé”.

Ainsi ce termine ce court article qui je l’espère vous aura donné l’envi de vous replonger dans un bon jeu à l’ancienne. En attendant j’aimerai partager avec vous, que le monde anglophone n’hésite plus à qualifier de “Nostalgic Gamers” un de mes premiers souvenirs vidéo ludique, l’excellent Donkey Kong arrivé sur les Nes de l’hexagone en 1986.